Afrikaans singer-songwriter, Janie Bay releases her acoustic project, ‘In Die Sitkamer’.


Photo Credits: Marguerite van Eeden.

4th September 2020 – Janie Bay releases her first acoustic sessions album ‘In Die Sitkamer’, amidst much excitement and expectation.

With fans asking for more, Janie initially planned to release a full-production album in 2020, but due to the Covid-19 restrictions, this has not been possible. Janie says that “In Die Sitkamer” is somehow her “fated baby.” “In April this year I noticed that many people around the world are listening to more relaxing music. I too feel more at ease during these uncertain times when I strum my guitar at home with some stripped-down vocals. Apart from the fact that the recording process is much simpler, there is something about acoustic music that just soothes the soul in many ways.  One of my fondest memories is of my dad playing his favourite song, Fly Away by John Denver, over and over again. It always made me feel safe.  So, even though it was born out of restrictive consideration, releasing an acoustic album made sense for me on many levels.”

In Die Sitkamer” consists of 8 acoustic songs, including the 3-hit singles of the past year, a duet with Hunter Kennedy titled “Wag Vir Jou” as well as a brand-new track “Herfs.” Bay initially planned to include this “50`s rhythm and blues”-feel song to the full-production album, but realized that it perfectly fits the mood of the acoustic offering.

This finely tuned musical offering is rounded off with two classic covers:  the Elvis Presley hit “Can’t Help Falling in Love with You” and a special version of “You are my Sunshine” that Bay recorded for the popular Afrikaans movie “Stroomop.”

 The album was recorded in the Spoegwolf lounge, from there the title: “In Die Sitkamer.”

Janie feels that the album is perfect for a road trip, to listen at a braai or a slow wake- me- up on a lazy Sunday morning with coffee and breakfast in bed.  She says: “Each track was made with much love and care. I hope that people will enjoy the album!”

‘In die Sitkamer’ Track List

  1. Herfs
  2. Wag Vir Jou (feat. Hunter Kennedy)
  3. Amper Daar
  4. Sterre Brand
  5. Can’t Help Falling In Love With You
  6. Jammer
  7. Die Heelal (feat. Early B)
  8. You Are My Sunshine

Stream the album HERE

Listen to Sterrebrand Acoustic:  HERE

Janie Bay has reached significant milestones with the release of her Afrikaans hit- singles “Amper Daar”, “Die Heelal feat Early B” and “Jammer” with Warner Music South Africa over the past 18 months. “Jammer” is currently number 1 on Jacaranda FM’s SA Top 20 Chart.  Up to date her music has been streamed more than two and a half million times on digital platforms and according to, these catchy singles have played more than 3 000 times on radio stations nationwide.

Photo Credits: Marguerite van Eeden.


Social Media








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *